Faculty & Staff

Staff
Mrs. Debbie Haertling: Principal/Superintendent

Hello, my name is Mrs. Debbie Haertling, and I received my Bachelor of Science degree in Early Childhood Education from Southeast Missouri State University taking extra classes to obtain PreK-8 certification, a Master of Arts in Teaching and a Specialist Degree in Administrative Leadership from Webster University.  I began my teaching career at Altenburg Public School in 1994 teaching first and second grade. Over the years I have also taught fourth grade and kindergarten.

​My husband, David, and I live on his family farm near New Wells, Missouri.  We have two children, Kristine and Jason, both graduates of Altenburg Public School and two grandchildren.  In my free time I enjoy spoiling my grandchildren, spending time with my family, volunteering at church, and being a 4-H volunteer and leader.  I also enjoy crafts of all kinds, canning what my husband grows in his huge garden, and reading historical fiction books.



​Email me at:
aps48@altenburgps.eduk12.net
Staff

Ashley Steffens - Administrative Assistant

 

I am Ashley Steffens and I am enjoying being the Administrative Assistant at APS. My days are filled with many smiles and waves from the students.  My favorite thing about working at APS is that each day is different and we have some really great kids at our school.

I am married to Tyler and we have two daughters, Charlee and Allie.  In my spare time you can find me reading a good book, enjoying the great outdoors with my family, and cooking.

 

Email me at:

asteffens@altenburgps.eduk12.net

staff

Mrs. Jill Barber - Parents as Teachers

Email me at: jbarber@altenburgps.eduk12.net

staff

Mrs. Kim Bauer - Special Education Aide & After School Care

 

Staff

Mrs. Amy Borowiak - Fourth Grade Teacher

Email me at:

aborowiak@altenburgps.eduk12.net

Teacher
Mrs. Kimberly Boxdorfer: Technology Instructor

My name is Kimberly Boxdorfer and I began my teaching career when I was seven years old.  My first student, my little sister, has now graduated college so I consider myself a success.  My college years were spent at Southeast Missouri State University where I graduated with a teaching degree and the realization that sneaking a book into a class I was paying for didn’t make a whole lot of sense.  I managed to get my nose out of a book long enough to marry my husband, Greg in 2001.  Being extremely efficient, that same year I graduated college, got my first teaching job, bought my first house, and moved to Altenburg.  After teaching five years in Oak Ridge, I realized that I was spending a lot of time in a car that I could be spending in a book.  So, even though I did not put my little sister’s success on my resume, I was lucky enough to get a job at a wonderful school just five doors down from my house.  Now I spend my time at APS helping students find great books and teaching kids (and adults) about the amazing things that can be done on a computer.  When not at school, I can be found chasing my three extremely energetic children (Katie, Brody, and Jack) and if I’m lucky, sneaking off to read a good book.

​Email me at:
kboxdorfer@altenburgps.eduk12.net
Teacher

Ms. Tessa Burroughs: Preschool Teacher

Email me at

tburroughs@altenburgps.eduk12.net

Teacher
Mrs. Jen Eifert: Preschool Director

I am Jen Eifert, Preschool Teacher/Director. I am blessed to work with the youngest members of our school district!  At preschool each day is filled with joy and excitement, as children are learning and growing, making discoveries about themselves and the world around them! I graduated from Southeast Missouri State University in 2001 with a Bachelor’s of Science in Child Development. I have eleven years of teaching experience, with the last five years being at Altenburg Public School.  My husband Louis and I live in Shawneetown with our three children.  Our kiddos - Grace, Allison, and Charlie are proud APS students.  In my spare time, I enjoy reading, power walking and cooking.

Email me at:
jeifert@altenburgps.eduk12.net
Teacher
Mrs. Julie Hecht: Reading Specialist

My name is Mrs. Julie Hecht. I have more than 20 years of teaching experience.  I graduated from Southeast Missouri State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Social Work in 1992.  I then received my teaching certification from Central Methodist College in 1997.  I continued my education at Southeast Missouri State University where I received my Master's Degree in Education in 2005.  I reside in Jackson with my husband Greg.  We have been married for more than 25 years and have two sons, Grant and Adam.  All three of the men in my family are proud graduates from Altenburg Public School.  

​Email me at:
jhecht@altenburgps.eduk12.net
Staff

Mrs. Kim Lohmann: Special Education Director and Teacher


Email me at:
klohmann@altenburgps.eduk12.net​

staff
Mrs. Sharon Mansell: Art Teacher


Email me at:
smansell@altenburgps.eduk12.net​
staff
Ms. Sharon Amanda Pecaut: 5th & 6th Grade Teacher


Email me at:
staff

Mr. Luke Ponder: Middle School Math and Science


Email me at:

lponder@altenburgps.eduk12.net

Teacher
Miss Jessika Ray: 2nd Grade Teacher

​Email me at:
jray@altenburgps.eduk12.net
staff
Miss Kallie Roth: Kitchen Aide
Teacher
Mrs. Valarie Sachs: Preschool Teacher

My name is Valarie Sachs and I teach preschool at APS.

​Email me at:
vsachs@altenburgps.eduk12.net
Staff
Mrs. Ally Schnurbusch: 1st Grade Teacher

Email me at: aschnurbusch@altenburgps.eduk12.net
Teacher

Mrs. Renea Schnurbusch - Kindergarten Teacher

Email me at: rschnurbusch@altenburgps.eduk12.net

staff
Miss Macy Slinkard: 3rd Grade Teacher


Email me at:
mslinkard@altenburgps.eduk12.net​
staff

Mr. Tim Steffens: PE Coach


Email me at: tsteffens@altenburgps.eduk12.net

staff

Ms. Amy Tucker: Middle School Teachers


Email me at: atucker@altenburgps.eduk12.net